Live Life Without Fear

I sought the Lord and he answered me; He delivered me from all my fears.                                                                                     

Psalm 34:4

 

  
Live Life Without Fear

         The one positive fear that the Bible endorses is the fear of God – loving, obedient worship! Wise Solomon said fearing God is the beginning of wisdom. It was Oswald Chambers who added, “The remarkable thing about fearing God is that, when you fear God, you fear nothing else; whereas, if you do not fear God, you fear everything else.”   

     In Eritrea, Helen Berhane was frequently tortured during her almost three years in the shipping container prison. In spite of that she had no fear. Once when interrogated for teaching the Bible to the guards outside her cell, she replied:

       “I am always looking for opportunities to talk about my faith and to spread the news about Jesus. I am not ashamed of the gospel and I will talk to anyone and to everyone. Jesus does not just want me to tell the prisoners about him, he wants me to tell the guards too. Even if the president were to visit the prison, I would tell him about the gospel.

       “I am not afraid of you. You can do what you want to me, but ultimately all you can do is kill my body, you cannot touch my soul. You cannot even kill me unless it is God’s will that I should die.”[1] Her persecutors had no answer and returned her to her shipping container.

     Karim from Algeria lived with fear all his life in spite of his great accomplishments. He says: By the time I was 28 years old, I had achieved everything a man could desire. But my heart was crying out, “What is the meaning of life.”

     So I prayed a simple prayer to God…and I said, “You, my God who created me…today I make you responsible for the outcome of my life. I will give you 15 days, and if in that time you don’t change my life, I will kill myself and you will be responsible.”

     At exactly midnight I woke up sweating. I was afraid.

     A man grabbed me by the left shoulder. He said to me, “Karim, do not fear…I am here…The Karim from this morning is dead. You are a new Karim now.”

     And as he finished speaking, I realized it was Jesus. I was overwhelmed by a peace I cannot describe. It was a new birth for me. God is with us and His promises are stronger than fear!

 


[1] [1] Helen Berhane, Song of the Nightingale (Colorado Springs: Authentic Media, 2009), p. 75.
 

RESPONSE

Today I will live in the fear of God so that I will not fear anything or anyone else.

PRAYER

Pray that all Christians in fearful situations today will have the attitude of trust in the Lord and not fear for their lives.
Leave a Reply

