THE OBEDIENCE OF A CHILD

If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love … You are my friends if you do what I command.  (John 15:10,14)

When we abide in Christ we receive blessings exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think (Ephesians 3:20). We experience that Jesus has given us life to live more abundantly (John 10:10).

The Lord reminded the Israelites how He saved them from bondage, and this is why they should have no masters except Himself (Exodus 20:1, 2).

We feel the same obligation, and say, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me” (Galatians 2:20).

Whoever receives Jesus accepts His kingship on his life. He knows that he ought to obey Jesus rather than man (Acts 5:29). He asks Jesus, “Lord, what do you want me to do?” (Acts 9:6)  Sometimes we say, “Not so, Lord!” (Acts 10:14) If He is Lord of life He should not take a “no” for an answer.

What a blessing for us to receive from Him and obey Him!  “Then you will be prosperous and successful” (Joshua 1:8).

Writer of the Month:  Menes Abdul-Noor from Egypt. A respected leader of the Christian Church in Cairo.

Copyright [C] 1995 Open Doors International. Used by permission.

Leave a Reply

